Seeing which user did any modifications

How to see who was the last user to do any changes in the PIM

When there are multiple users who are working in the same PIM account, it might be necessary to see who was the last user to make any updates to an entity in order to keep people accountable and make team collaboration more insightful. Users are now able to see who did any changes to Products, Lists, Assets, Product Sheets, Brand Portals, Channels and Import/Export actions. In this article you will learn where you can see the modifications a user did the last time to an entity and what kind of changes trigger to reflect these modifications. 

 

Product Updates

Lists Updates

Asset Updates

Import Updates

Brand Portals Updates

Product Sheet Updates

Channels Updates

 


Product Updates 

Whenever a user is creating a new product upon import or within the system or making any changes to a product by bulk-editing or on a product detail page (editing system or user attribute, adding asset) you will now be able to see reflected which user did these changes. These modifications will be reflected with an avatar and the username of the corresponding user. 

 

user-modified-product

ℹ️When linking a new asset to a product, both the product and the asset is considered modified.

 

⚠️You will not be able to see which user did modifications from within the table view.

 

A product is considered modified when: 

  • Any user or system attribute is changed. This means editing by import, bulk edit, from the product editing page, product table view or any kind of editing.
  • Relationships are added, modified, or deleted.
  • Variations are added or deleted.
  • Assets are added, modified, or deleted.

 


Lists Updates 

Whenever a user did any changes to a product or asset list, these modifications will also be marked with an avatar icon and the user name to see which user did these changes. You will be able to see these modifications reflected from within the overview of all your product/asset lists and inside a product/asset list. 

 

A product or asset list is considered modified when: 

  • A product/asset is added or removed from a static list, the products/assets overview or the importer
  • A filter is changed on a smart list
  • The name is changed

 


Asset Updates

You are also able to see which user created or modified any asset from within the asset overview or inside an asset. 

 

An asset is considered modified when: 

  • a product is linked or unlinked to an asset
  • any system attribute is changed (including name, categories, thumbnail, privacy...etc)
  • replace an asset
  • if a product is imported, and it is linked to an existing asset

⚠️When deleting a product that an asset is linked to, the asset is not considered modified 

 


Import Updates

When a user is doing a manual import, creating or editing an import profile or setting up/modifying an import feed, these actions will also be marked by the user who did these.


An import feed is considered modified when: 

  • The name is changed
  • The scheduling is changed
  • Feed matching is modified
  • A feed is changed from active/inactive
  • The feed is processed

ℹ️A scheduled processing of an import feed will be marked by the system rather than a user


The changes for the import feeds will get reflected on the overview of your import feeds and inside a specific import feed. 

 


Brand Portals Updates

Whenever a user is making any modifications to a Brand Portal, you will also be able to see which user took these actions. A Brand Portal is considered modified basically every time a user needs to hit the "Save Changes" button, which is the case for the following actions:

  • changing the name of the Brand Portal
  • adding, removing, or modifying attributes
  • adding or removing a product or asset list
  • changing any export settings (e.g. deleting a linked Product Sheet!)
  • changing any notification settings
  • changing password 
  • saving any changes in the Designer 
  • changing the Brand Portal logo 

 


Product Sheets Updates

Whenever a user is making any modifications to a Product Sheet, you will also be able to see which user took these actions. A Product Sheet is considered modified basically every time a user needs to hit the "Save Changes" button, which is the case for the following actions:

 

  • changing the name
  • adding, removing, or modifying attributes
  • saving any changes made in the Designer
  • changing the logo of the Product Sheet 

 


Channels Updates 

When a user is making any changes to a Channel, you will be able to see which user is responsible for these modifications. 

A Channel is considered modified when: 

  • the name is changed
  • attributes are added, removed, or modified
  • a product list is added or removed from the channel detail
  • any changes have been saved on the format tab
  • any changes have been saved on the settings tab
  • a channel is set to/from active to inactive
  • any changes have been saved on the mapping tab (Shopify)|

ℹ️Scheduled processing does not count as a modification, this has a separate "system" marker. 

 


What's Next

 

If you have any questions just click on the chat box in the bottom-right corner and we'll be happy to answer them...

and please let us know 👇