Creating a Channel

How to set up a Channel feed in Plytix for syndication

Channels is where you can set up product feeds to syndicate information to different systems, marketplaces, and other platforms. In this article, we will show you how to create and set up Channels in Plytix.

 

Types of Channels

Adding a new Channel

Channel Detail Header

Channel Type, Name, and Status

Channel Information

Processing and Preview

Navigation

Duplicate and Delete

Attributes

Products

Format

Settings

 

ℹ️ Channels is a PRO feature in Plytix. If you do not have this option enabled, talk to your account manager. 


Types of Channels

There are 2 different types of Channels: XML and CSV/XLSX. Each have a similar basic set up, until it gets to the formatting section. This article will show how to set up the basics of each. If you want to see more about the different format types, visit these articles: 

    ℹ️ The CSV and XLSX Channels are interchangeable. You can choose the spreadsheet type upon export and/or scheduling.


    Adding a new Channel

    All Channels are managed in the Channels section of Plytix. This area can be found on the top menu of the main navigation bar. 

     

    Screenshot 2021-01-30 at 18.18.14

    To create a new Channel: 

    1. Go to the Channels section
    2. On the right of the screen, click "Add Channel"
    3. Then give your Channel a unique name, and choose the type
       
      create-new-product-feed
    4. Click "Add Channel" to create the new Channel
    5. You will be taken to the Channel Detail View where you can add products and attributes to configure you Channel and you can also configure the settings for how to process the Channel data. 

    channel-detail-empty

     


    Channel Detail Header

    Every Channel type has the same available areas in its detail view. The rest of this article is a quick tour of what you can find in the header area.

     

    hc-channel-detail

     

    1. Channel Name, Status and Type
    2. Channel Information
    3. Preview and Processing
    4. Navigation
    5. Duplicating and Deleting
    6. Channel Configuration Tabs: Attributes, Products, Format, Settings



    Channel Name, Status, and Type


    Here you can see what type of Channel you have created, if the Channel is active or not, and the name of the Channel.

    Status

    The status of the Channel is indicated by a green check mark (active) or a red x (inactive)

    channel-status
    An "active" Channel will have a URL that is available for use and if it runs on a processing schedule, then the processing will occur. "Inactive" Channels will not run scheduled processes.

    Name


    You can also edit the Channel name by clicking on it, and to save press "Enter"



    edit-channel-name


    Channel Information

    Here you can see when a Channel was created, last modified, or the last time the Channel was processed. 

     


    Process and Preview

    The "Process" button will update the data in your Channel on command. The "Preview" button will let you see what your Channel output will look like before you process it. Per default, these are disabled because you need to set up the data (attributes and products) and the format of the Channel before you can process it. 

    Preview 

    By clicking the preview, you can see how your information will appear before you process it.  This preview will mimic the data output you have chosen, whether it is a spreadsheet or an XML file.

    Processing 

    When you click the "Process" button, you will see an overview that will provide you some options when updating and sending your product content: 

     

    channel-processing-options

    Processing Products and Assets

    These options tell Plytix which products and assets to include in your feed.

    You can choose: 

    processing-options

    1. "All" products and assets in your product list
    2. Only those products and assets that have been "Modified" after the reference date
    3. Only those products and assets that have been "Created" after the reference date
    4. Only those products and assets that have been "Created or modified" after the reference date

    💡 Only sending new and updated data keeps your processing times short

     

    Reference Date

    This date indicates from when updates should be taken into account. Per default, this is set to the last time the Channel was processed, but it can also be manually changed.

     

    ℹ️ Reference date is ignored if you choose to process "All" products and assets

     

    Summary

    This tells you how many products will be processed and sent in your feed based on the settings you have selected. 

     


    Navigation Buttons

    The navigation buttons allow you to move to the next Channel in your list. This is helpful when processing many Channels or making updates across multiple Channels.  Navigation buttons are disabled if you have cloned a Channel or have filters enabled when jumping into a Channel. 

    navigation

     


    Duplicating and Deleting

    You can also clone and delete a Channel from the detail view. 

    duplicate


    Duplicating
    a Channel will clone all the entire Channel settings down to the attributes and scheduling options. This is particularly useful if you have multiple storefronts or marketplaces that use the same type of set up. 

     

    Deleting a Channel will require confirmation as this cannot be undone.

     


    Attributes

    Channels allow you to pull in select information from your catalog. The "Attributes" tab will allow you to select the different properties you want to include.

    attribute-tab

    Here you can: 

     


    Products

    In this section you choose which products to feature in your Channel by selecting a product list. The list of products will appear here so that you can review them easily.

    amazon-ready-products


    Format

    This tab is where you can set up your Channel format in terms of order of items and attributes. These are different depending on your Channel type. To learn more about each Channel type, see the articles below:

     

     


    Settings

    Channel settings let you configure things like: 

    • What the file name will be
    • If you want to include a timestamp in your file name
    • The output format (only for CSV and XLSX) 
    • If you want to send your file to an FTP or Dropbox under "Connections"
    • Scheduling automatic processing

    settings

     


    What's Next

     

    If you have any questions just click on the chat box in the bottom-right corner and we'll be happy to answer them...

     

    and please let us know 👇